Photo: Bleacher Report
Photo: Bleacher Report

UEFA revealed the nominees for its ‘Team of the Year’ on Monday and the list featured the quite obvious duo of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Neymar as well as Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo. Joe Allen from Stoke City also managed to make it to 40-man list ahead of Mesut Ozil from Arsenal which turned out to be quite a surprise for the audience.

According to the report of Alex Martin from Per Mail Online, the nominations included 12 Premier League football stars, Joe Allen being one of them. While Ozil did not make it, the list featured other Arsenal stars like Aaron Ramsey, Laurent Koscielny, and Alexis Sanchez.

Photo: Bleacher Report
Photo: Bleacher Report

The competition for nominations was quite tough and many of the players are still struggling to make it to the final XI of their team. Gareth Bale from Real Madrid, Juventus’ Gianluigi Buffon, the Manchester United duo of Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Paul Pogba, and Sergio Aguero from Manchester City are a few of the many examples.

Let us have a look at the final list of the nominees.

Keylor Navas, Real Madrid Rui Patricio, Sporting Lisbon
Gianluigi Buffon, Juventus Jan Oblak, Atletico Madrid
Gerard Pique, Barcelona Laurent Koscielny, Arsenal
Joshua Kimmich, Bayern Munich Diego Godin, Atletico Madrid
Toby Alderweireld, Tottenham Pepe, Real Madrid
Sergio Ramos, Real Madrid Juanfra, Atletico Madrid
Raphael Guerreiro, Borussia Dortmund Dani Carvajal, Real Madrid
Leonardo Bonucci, Juventus Jerome Boateng, Bayern Munich
Dimitri Payet, West Ham Luka Modric, Real Madrid
Yannick Carrasco, Atletico Madrid Aaron Ramsey, Arsenal
Paul Pogba, Man United Toni Kroos, Real Madrid
Riyad Mahrez, Leicester Andres Iniesta, Barcelona
Kevin De Bruyne, Man City N’Golo Kante, Chelsea
Joe Allen, Stoke Grzegorz Krychowiak, PSG
Lionel Messi, Barcelona Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Borussia Dortmund
Luis Suarez, Barcelona Neymar, Barcelona
Cristiano Ronaldo, Real Madrid Gareth Bale, Real Madrid
Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Man United Sergio Aguero, Man City
Gonzalo Higuain, Juventus Antoine Griezmann, Atletico Madrid
Robert Lewandowski, Bayern Munich Alexis Sanchez, Arsenal

Real Madrid who is also the Champions League winner is unsurprisingly the only team that has the maximum number of players in the nominations. Eight out of forty players in the list are from Real Madrid and play for Los Blancos. Pepe, Keylor Navas, Sergio Ramos, Luka Modric, Toni Kroos and Dani Carvajal all managed to make their way as nominees.

Lionel Messi, Neymar, Luis Suarez, Gerard Pique and Andres Iniesta represent the team of Barcelona. Five nominees belong to Atletico Madrid and these are Antoine Griezmann, Jan Oblak, Diego Godin, Juanfran and Yannick Carrasco.

The Premier League is well represented with Kevin De Bruyne, Riyad Mahrez, N’Golo Kante, Toby Alderweireld and Dimitri Payet joining Allen and the group of Arsenal and Manchester United stars. Unfortunately, Philippe Coutinho of Liverpool and Paulo Dybala and Andrea Barzagli of Juventus could not make it to the list.

Watch Live Matches